HYBRID EVENT: You can participate in person at Rome, Italy or Virtually from your home or work.

10th Edition of World Nanotechnology Conference

March 10-12, 2025

March 10 -12, 2025 | Rome, Italy
World Nano 2023

Purushottam Chakraborty

Purushottam Chakraborty, Speaker at Nanotechnology conferences
Purushottam Chakraborty
Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, India


Purushottam Chakraborty, a Former Senior Professor of Physics, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, India and a Former Adjunct Professor of Physics, University of Pretoria, South Africa is considered as one of the leading experts in Materials Science and Materials Analysis using Ion Beams. He was awarded the “Most Eminent Mass Spectrometrist of India” and conferred the “Gold Medal” by the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India for his outstanding contributions in Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS). He received “Premchand Roychand Scholarship (PRS)” and “Mouat Medal” of Calcutta University. Prof Chakraborty’s research areas include: Atomic Collisions in Solids, Ion-Beam Modifications and Analysis, Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS), Low-dimensional Materials, X-UV optics, Nonlinear Optics, Photonics, Plasmonics, etc.

Prof Chakraborty indigenously fabricated an RF-Quadrupole Mass Spectrometer for the first time in India for working on Atomic Collisions in Solids. His “MCsn+ molecular-ion based SIMS” is considered to be innovative for compositional analysis of nanostructured materials. His work on the fabrication of ‘layered Synthetic Microstructures (LSM)’ is recognized as a pioneering contribution in the “Realization of Optical Devices for the Extreme Ultraviolet to Soft X-rays”. His works on “Metal-Glass Nanocomposites” have led to the remarkable achievements in the development of novel photonic materials.

Prof Chakraborty worked at FOM-Institute in Netherlands, ICTP and Padova University in Italy, Laval University in Canada, Osaka Electro-Communication University in Japan, University of Pretoria in South Africa, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil, etc. He delivered lectures at Imperial College in London; Maria Curie-SkÅ‚odowska University and Polish Academy of Sciences in Poland; Vanderbilt University, IBM T J Watson Research Centre, Rutgers University, Jackson State University, Furman University, Yale University in USA; Bielefeld University, Friedrich Schillar University, Kaiserslautern University in Germany; University of Western Australia, Newcastle University Australia; Osaka Electrocommunication University, Kyoto University, SPring-8, Nagoya Institute of Technology in Japan; National Taiwan University in Taiwan; Witwatersrand University, i-Themba Labs for Accelerator Sciences, Nelson Mandela University in South Africa;  Asian Institute of Technology in Thailand, TIFR, IISc, IITs, Tezpur University, in India, etc. Prof Chakraborty has delivered invited lectures at more than 140 international conferences across the globe and published more than 130 scientific papers including review articles, book chapters, etc. Prof Chakraborty edited a book on “Ion-beam Analysis of Surfaces and Interfaces of Condensed Matter Systems” (Nova Science Publishers, New York, USA) and Journal of Physics – Conference Series (UK). He is the Editor of “Photonic Materials”, as a Section of the “Encyclopedia of Materials: Electronics” (To be published by Elsevier Science). He is editing a book “Nanomaterials for Sensing and Labelling Applications” (Springer, Germany). Prof Chakraborty is a Fellow of the Indian Chemical Society and West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology.